Pumpkins

14470539_10154402962646368_3265908496208150457_n

I don’t mean to be elliptical, but this week has been long, and I am tired.  Me being tired is hardly news, but I sat down to write this blog post three times and could barely string two words together, and I’m not even sure I’ll get to the end of this one.

Predictably, the first thing I did when I got a day off was go to Lush Oxford Street to check out their Winter range.  I love spicy scents, I love Christmas Lush, I’ve been eyeing up a bath bomb called Pumpkin ever since the range was leaked.  Cinnamon!  And vanilla.  Mostly, I don’t like vanilla scents – and this is a vanilla scent – but there’s so much spice, I can forgive it, and know this will be warming and marvellous once autumn has set in and the nights are dark.  Such an unusual smell, like the corner of a Moroccan souk, but so British at the same time:  a smell to burn a guy to.

It doesn’t do anything fancy, the Pumpkin Bath Bomb, just fizzes yellow and orange and turns the water spicy, but after a week like this, I like to keep it simple.

Incidentally, I was so knackered just getting to Oxford Street, I had to sit in the Slug and Lettuce and have a lemonade and a chicken wrap before going any further.  I was winning, I tell you.

I did overdo it a bit, in many ways.  “I see you’ve got a new sack of bath bombs,” said my friend, when he came round for dinner the next evening.  He didn’t know the half of it.

Actually, the one I’m most excited about trying is the Boo! bath melt.  He’s an unassuming chap, but smells of spice and ginger, two of my favourite autumnal things.

Yesterday, I got a second wind, and went to some appointments, and wrote some emails, and met some old friends for half a bottle of wine and a cheese board.  By this morning, I was dead again and soaking in a Monsters’ Ball bath.  It’s an neroli and lime scent familiar to Lush obsessives as the smell of The Enchanter.  This one turns the water purple, which I’m always going to appreciate.  I also scrubbed myself down with a Salt and Peppermint Bark scrub.  Like I said, I lost all willpower in the shop, and I have developed a recent love of massage bars, and have always enjoyed salt products, and it smells like Kendal mint cake.  It was lovely.

Actually, when I got out of the bath, I mostly smelt of sexy oranges, so clearly Monsters’ Ball is dominant.  That’s not bad.

Today, feeling like I had been hit by a truck, I felt that I should go for a walk, so at least I could say I had moved.  I went to the local grocery store and bought and overpriced can of pinto beans, then sat by the Thames, so it was clearly the most middle class walk in history.  To be truthful, I feel worse for it.  That was predictable.

I do have a sack of bath bombs, and I smell like a riot in an orangery.

4 thoughts on “Pumpkins

Leave a Reply

